BackBackMenuCloseFermerPlusPlusSearchUluleUluleUluleChatFacebookInstagramLinkedInTwitterYouTubefacebooktwitterB Corporation

CEUAS MUSIC FESTIVAL

QUAND LES RROMS ET LES 'GADJE' SE PARLENT EN MUSIQUE

À propos du projet

POURQUOI DONNER ?

Les films avec les rroms ont beaucoup de succès. En revanche, la réalité avec les rroms est un échec total. Pourquoi viennent-ils si nombreux en Europe occidentale ? Parce que dans le pays où ils sont les plus nombreux, la Roumanie, ils sont vus comme une sous-espèce, des vilains qui finiront par nous décevoir si on leur fait confiance. D'ailleurs rarement les rroms et les "gadje" échangent et se rencontrent véritablement, dans un cadre paisible. La plupart des roumains ignorent même l'histoire de ce peuple, absente de l'enseignement dispensé dans les écoles, et notamment l'épisode d'esclavage qui a pris fin il y a seulement 160 ans. Peuple nomade, sorti probablement de force du Nord de l'Inde, vassaux au service des nobles ou de l'état pendant la période féodale, massacré pendant la deuxième guerre mondiale, sédentarisé de force pendant la période communiste, ayant par là-même, oublié ses occupations artisanales, et aujourd'hui méprisé pour la pauvreté qui en résulte.

Avec ces considérations, forte est la surprise de l'occidental qui débarque dans ce village de rroms perdu au fond de la Transylvanie. Des gens lumineux, un air de bonne humeur omniprésent, une énergie débordante, des maisons colorées et bien tenues, une bienveillance affichées, mais aussi trois ou quatre familles vivant dans une grande misère, avec beaucoup d'enfants sales, sans vêtements, essayant à tout prix d'obtenir quelque chose à manger.

Pourquoi est-ce ainsi ? Ayant beaucoup réfléchi à la question, nous pouvons affirmer : par ignorance, de plusieurs points de vue. Mais la plus pressante est l'ignorance des roumains, et de quelques européens, envers cette culture.

Comment y remédier ? En douceur. 

Ce festival est l'une des possibilités.

Les rroms de Ceuas sont porteurs d'une tradition musicale unique, qui a fait le sujet d'un ouvrage d'ethnomusicologie : Filippo Bonini Baraldi - Tsiganes, musique et empathie. Pourtant, les musiciens voient leur métier disparaître et leur communauté vivre dans de conditions de pauvreté extrême et d'exclusion sociale. La création du Ceuas Music Festival apportera ainsi une source de revenus durables à la communauté entière.

Dans les années ’80, les musiciens de ce village tournaient aux Etats-Unis et au Japon pour faire chanter leurs violons d’une voix stridente qui va directement au coeur. Sándor, alors jeune musicien, est rentré au village avec un sac rempli d’argent, qu’il a distribué à tout le monde, de sorte qu’un mythe est resté autour de la question “mais où est donc passé l’argent?” Son fils Shanyika, le leader actuel des musiciens, est doté d’un esprit plus pragmatique : il veut créer un revenu régulier, durable et dont la communauté peut bénéficier par sa participation directe. 

Si “les roumains n’aiment pas les tsiganes” (comme l’avoue Shanyika d’un air mélancolique), le sentiment n’est pas partagé. Contrairement à des préjugés très répandus, les roumains sont très bien accueillis dans ce petit village aux airs médiévaux. De même que les nombreux occidentaux qui s’y sont retrouvés par divers moyens (et notamment grâce au livre de Filippo Bonini Baraldi).

LE PROGRAMME QUOTIDIEN

Pendant le festival, tous les participants (musiciens, danseurs, ou simplement sympathisants de la culture rromani) logeront chez les rroms du village de Ceuas. La journée, il y aura 4 heures de cours de dance et de musique pour ceux qui veulent pratiquer leurs talents. Cela sera aussi l'occasion pour les participants de comprendre comment l'apprentissage des traditions se fait chez les rroms, car il diffère bien-sûr de nos cours de musique habituels. Des promenades en charrette traditionnelle seront organisées aux alentours, l'occasion de découvrir divers aspects culturels. Une séance d'introduction à la langue et à la culture rromani sera organisée pour les intéressés. Le soir, les musiciens rroms et les danseurs professionnels donneront des représentations où tout le monde est invité à participer et à improviser. Les lieux changeront régulièrement selon la météo, entre la salle culturelle du village, la place du village et les grands jardins individuels.  

PAS DE SCÈNE, PAS DE SÉPARATION

Tout le monde sait danser et jouer un peu de musique, donc le festival est ouvert à tous, indifféremment de l'expertise. Si le participant veut seulement observer ou bien s'impliquer, le choix lui appartient, mais ici on ne fait pas de différence entre les artistes et le public.

Dans le respect des valeurs de la musique traditionnelle, il n’y a dans ce festival pas de scène, pas de réflecteurs, pas de système son, pas de coulisses. Les musiciens, les danseurs et les spectateurs sont tous acteurs du même espace. C’est, à notre échelle modeste, un contre-écho à la folklorisation croissante des musiques d’un monde qui normalement ne fait pas de séparation entre la musique et le quotidien.

Si vous souhaitez vous joindre à nous pendant le festival, veuillez visiter notre site web pour plus de détails. En raison de l'éloignement du village de toute commodité moderne, la réservation à l'avance est requise afin d'assurer le logement et la nourriture des participants. La date limite pour les inscriptions est le 25 mai 2018.  

PROTÉGER LA TRANSMISSION

Il y a beaucoup d'enfants à Ceuas. On voudrait leur montrer qu'être musicien est un modèle de vie, d'une bonne vie. Et que leur musique est appréciée, leur tradition est précieuse.

A quoi va servir le financement ?

OÙ EN SOMMES-NOUS DANS L'ORGANISATION ?

Le plus gros travail a déjà été fait : le site internet et la vidéo. De leur côté, nos amis rroms ont commencé les aménagements pour l'accueil des participants, notamment la construction de douches et toilettes supplémentaires. Piroska Darvas, l'une des organisateurs, a amené une grande quantité de matelas obtenus par ses relations avec les organismes de charités. Les conditions d'accueil seront sommaires, mais le plaisir sera royal. Les occidentaux adoreront, les participants potentiels sont déjà amoureux de cet endroit, qu'ils ont découvert lors de leur pérégrinations musicales. Nous espérons que cette campagne amènera beaucoup de nouveaux amateurs. Avec votre soutien financier, nous pourrons mettre en place cette rencontre.

BUDGET

Vous pensez que c'est un projet parfait pour les subventions européennes ? Oui, mais pas en Roumanie. Forte était notre surprise quand nous avons constaté qu’il n’y avait pas de fonds de l’Union Européenne dédiés à ce type de projet, qui réunit solidarité, anti-discrimination, culture et apport économique dans une région défavorisée. En France, on nous a dit de chercher en Roumanie. En Roumanie, le Ministère des Fonds Européens nous a répondu qu’un dispositif existerait mais qu’il ne fonctionne pas encore (depuis 10 ans?).

Alors on fera sans leur aide. Avec le vôtre!

Voici les chiffres :

RECETTES / TOTAL = 6510€

Ulule 3000€ - commission = 2760€; PAF participants (min. 15 personnes) = 3750€

DEPENSES / TOTAL = 6510€

Amenagements pour l'accueil des participants = 1500€; Hébergement des participants = 375€; Nourriture = 2000€; Rémunération cuisinières = 635€; Rémunération musiciens = 1500€; Location salle = 500€; Communication, gestion et organisation = bénévole

*** Le cas échéant, tout excédent sera utilisé afin d'assurer la deuxième édition du festival.

À propos du porteur de projet

LES ORGANISATEURS : UNE AMITIÉ PLURICULTURELLE

Pour l’organisation du festival, Shanyika Mezei a fait appel à ses deux amies, Piroska Darvas, d’origine hongroise et Alina Turco, d’origine roumaine. Dans un pays ravagé par la haine triadique roumains - hongrois - rroms, voici une bel exemple de collaboration pluriculturelle.

Piroska Darvas, d'origine hongroise, est nonne catholique en Roumanie. Le domaine d'action de sa congrégation se dirige vers les minorités victimes de discrimination. Depuis qu'elle a découvert les musiciens de Ceuas il y a plusieurs années, elle les soutient dans la plupart de leur projets.

Sanyika Mezei, d'origine rromani, est le chef du groupe des jeunes musiciens de Ceuas, suivant la tradition transmise par son père, Sándor Csanyi. L'idée de créer ce festival lui appartient.

Alina Turco, d'origine roumaine, est étudiante en anthropologie à Paris et amatrice de musique traditionnelle rromani. Elle a plus de 10 ans d'expérience dans la production d'événements dans les milieux de l'art, de la mode et de l'humanitaire.  

**Les images fixes et en mouvement ont été enregistrées par Horia Rusu et Razvan Dima. Nous cherchons aussi un producteur pour réaliser un film documentaire sur cette expérience, dans le même but : partager la connaissance sur des beautés cachées.** 

Site officiel

Facebook event

BackBackMenuCloseClosePlusPlusSearchUluleUluleUluleChatFacebookInstagramLinkedInTwitterYouTubefacebooktwitterB Corporation

CEUAS MUSIC FESTIVAL

A PLACE WHERE ROMA AND 'GADJE' PLAY MUSIC TOGETHER

About the project

Romania, 25th to 30th June 2018

                                                                                                                                                                     

A FESTIVAL CREATED BY ROMA, IN A COUNTRY WHERE PEOPLE DON'T LIKE THEM

Destination : a small village almost at the end of the world, where you'll need one travel day from Bucharest, by two trains, a bus and then a gypsy wagon. Welcome to Ceuas (pronounced Tchaywash). The best kept secret of Eastern Europe.

During five days (and five nights...) the aim of the festival is to offer guests the opportunity to discover, play and dance to a rromani music freshly taken out of life's water well.   

                                                                                                                                                                    

ROMA AND 'GADJE' PLAYING MUSIC TOGETHER, LET'S START FROM THAT

What a crazy idea at a time when "world music" festivals beat all audience records. In remote Ceuas, villagers just hope they can share with a few amateurs their unknown tradition. As they still cherish their "songs of the ancients" which are due to extinction under the monopole of commercial and industrial music. Today, indeed, the machines are more likely to be in charge of the numerous marriages in the area. Thus, the Roma musicians are obliged to put aside their violins in order to grasp a shovel and a spade and 'play' on agricultural farms.

Despite this pessimistic facts, the Ceuas people will not give up. Taking things in charge, they wanted to invent their own festival. But do not be fooled by the word. They will not have any stage, nor projectors. And not too much money either. Just enough to allow continuity of transmission to future generations.  

Thus, the Roma open their doors to Romanians and Westerners (the 'Gadje') who will have enough courage to share their every-day life, learn their music and improvise together. As the creator of the festival, Shanyika Mezei says, we need courage to play music and to forget that we're Roma or Romanian.

Shanyika already did the math : building dry toilets, extra showers, mattresses, food, salary for cooks and musicians. In conclusion : in order to see the daylight, this project needs a little help. Please support this humanitarian, exemplary, generous and visionary initiative, by donating 5€ or more. Your contribution will make the whole difference.

In return, you will receive a copy of the ongoing documentary film about Ceuas, an autographed photo, or even a personalised song played for you and sent on video by email.

Contributing is also the best way to be informed of the sequel of our adventure. As we will not stop to spread the love.

 

WHY CONTRIBUTE ?

Movies about Roma are very successful. Reality is not. Why are they coming to Western Europe ? Because in the country where they are most present, Romania, they are seen as a sub-species, mean people that always end up doing something wrong. Rarely do Roma and 'Gadje' speak to each other and truly meet, in a peaceful environment. Most Romanians don't even know the history of this people, namely the slavery episode that ended just 160 years ago. Nomadic people, probably extracted by force from Northern India, vassals during the feudal period, decimated during the Second World War, sedentarised by force during the communist era, having therefore forgotten their crafts, and today despised for the resulting poverty. 

With this in mind, there is a great surprise to arrive in this remote Roma village, lost somewhere in Transylvania. Luminous people, a feeling of joy and great energy, colourful and neat houses, kindness and benevolence, but also three or four very poor families, a lot of dirty and clothesless children, trying their best to get something to eat. 

Why is it so ? Having given it a great deal of thought, we can say : ignorance, from many points of view. But the most urgent one, is Romanians' and also some Europeans' towards this culture. 

How can we fix it ? Little by little.

This festival is one possible way.    

The Rromani people from Ceuas, Romania, are carrying a unique musical tradition, which has even been the object of an ethnomusicology study (Filippo Bonini Baraldi - Tsiganes, musique et empathie). Yet, the musicians are witnessing a loss of interest in their skills and the perpetuation of extreme poverty and social exclusion of their community. The Ceaus Music Festival will bring a sustainable source of income to the whole community.

During the '80s, the musicians from this village were touring all over United-States and Japan, and spreading the sound of their vigorous violins that speaks directly to the heart. Sándor, young musician at the time, came back to the village with a bag full of cash, which he distributed freely. Hence a myth remained : where did all that money go ? Sándor's son, Shanyika, the current leader of the musicians, sees things with more pragmatic eyes. He want to create a regular and sustainable revenue, that the community can share by being directly involved.

If "Romanians don't like Tsiganes" (as Shanyika admits with a melancholic voice), the opposite is not true. Despite a widely shared prejudice, Romanians are very well received in this little medieval looking village. As are the many Westerners that ended up there (some as a result of Filippo Bonini's book).   

THE DAILY SCHEDULE

During the festival, all guests (musicians and dancers, professionals and beginners) will share houses with the Roma musicians in Ceuas. In the day time, there will be 4 hours of dance and music classes for those who want to practice their Rromani skills. This is also a great opportunity to see how tradition is taught, as it differs greatly from our common music classes. Sightseeing and cultural tours will be organised in the surroundings, by horse-driven wagon. An introduction class to Roma culture and language will be given for all those who are interested. During the evening, the Roma musicians and dancers will give shows where everyone is welcome to participate and improvise. The locations will change regularly and according to the weather between the village cultural center, the village plazas and individual garden spaces.  

NO STAGE, NO DIVISION

Everyone knows how to dance and play some music, so everyone is welcome regardless of the expertise ! Wether guests want to participate or just observe, it's up to them, but here we do not make a difference between the performers and the public. 

According to the values of traditional music, this festival will not have any stage, projectors, sound system or backstage. Musicians, dancers and the public are all actors of the same space. This is, at our modest scale, a counter weight to the 'folklorization' of world music, back to a world where music and everyday life are one and the same. 

Should you wish to join us, please visit our website for further details. Due to the remote location, registration in advance is compulsory (the deadline is 25th May 2018).

TAKING CARE OF THE TRANSMISSION 

The many children in the village will therefore see that their music is appreciated and that being a musician is a good way to earn a living.

The kids are already rehearsing for the festival. Let's make it worth it !

What are the funds for?

WHAT HAS BEEN DONE SO FAR ?  

The most time consuming part was the website and the video. On their side, our Roma friends have started building extra showers and toilets in order to facilitate things for their future guests. They have enough space and Piroska, one of the organisers, has brought loads of mattresses from her charity connections. Guest accommodation will be basic, but the fun will be maximum. Prospective guests already know and love the place, that they discovered by themselves. We hope many others will come through this campaign. With your financial support, we will be able to insure better conditions both for the guests, and for the dance and music lessons. We are depending on you!

BUDGET

You think this would be perfect for European Funding? Not in Romania. At our great surprise, we found out that there is no subvention from the European Union that suits this project, even though it assembles so many aspects : humanitarian, anti-discriminatory, minority focused, cultural and economical growth in disadvantaged areas. In France, we've been told to seek in Romania. In Romania, the Ministry of European Funds told us that there is a suitable program, but the procedure is not settled yet, and we should follow the news. Since 10 years they still didn't manage ?

Never mind, we can make it without them. With your help.

Here are the numbers :

REVENUE / TOTAL = 6510€

Ulule 3000€ - commission = 2760€; Participants' fee (min. 15 people) = 3750€

EXPENSES / TOTAL = 6510€

Amenities = 1500€; Accommodation = 375€; Food = 2000€; Cooks salary = 635€; Musicians salary = 1500€; Space rental = 500€; Communication, administration and organisation = pro bono

*** Should there be any surplus, it will be used to insure next year's edition.

About the project owner

THE ORGANIZERS : A CROSS-CULTURAL FRIENDSHIP

In order to organise the festival, Sanyika asked for the help of his two friends : the Hungarian Piroska Darvas and the Romanian Alina Turco. In a country thorn apart by the triangular hatred between Romanians, Hungarians and Roma, this is an example of a beautiful friendship.   

Piroska Darvas, of Hungarian origin, is a religious nun of the « Congregația Surorilor Ajutatoare » order (Congregation of Helping Sisters). Her field of social action is directed toward discriminated minorities. She met the Ceuas musicians a few years ago and since then she supports their projects as much as possible. 

Sanyika Mezei, of Rromani origin, is chief of the Ceuas young musicians group, following his father Sándor Csanyi’s foot steps. The idea of this festival was his.

Alina Turco, of Romanian origin, studies anthropology in Paris and admires Rromani traditional music. She has over 10 years of experience in producing art, fashion, and humanitarian events. 

**Still and moving images were photographed by Horia Rusu and Razvan Dima. We are also looking for a producer in order to film a documentary about this experience. The purpose is the same : spreading knowledge about unknown beauty.**

Official website

Facebook event

FAQ

If you still have an unanswered question, feel free to ask the project owner directly.

Ask your question Report this project